mtbr member
    Aug 2017

Any good tutorial on cable routing?

I am new to bike building and it seems like a lot of the videos seem to skip over the details of routing the housing and cables and using ferrules, etc etc.

BOOM goes the dynamite!
    I usually just do a google image search for whatever bike I'm working on if it's not straightforward where things are supposed to go.

since 4/10/2009
    Yeah, short of checking the googles (or going to the manufacturer website for pics), cable routing is about smooth lines. The smoother any bends, the smoother any cable pulling will be. Some bikes have crap routing and either you get stuck using that, or you hack together a better solution with stick-on cable guides or something.

If you are talking about internal routing, that will depend on how the particular bike in question routes cables through the frame. Some do it well and the process is more or less a cakewalk. Others do it very poorly and it will take you awhile (and maybe some tools you'll only use for routing cables in that bike).

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Gotcha, thanks guys. What do the ferrules do and are they all kind of the same or are there different types etc? I'm wonder what that assembly process looks like, though it seems pretty simply and just shoving in the ends

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by svinyard View Post
    Gotcha, thanks guys. What do the ferrules do and are they all kind of the same or are there different types etc? I'm wonder what that assembly process looks like, though it seems pretty simply and just shoving in the ends
    Pics of your frame might be good at this point. Personally I avoid housing stops. If I have to zip-tie full-length housing to my frame, so be it but I won't tolerate interrupted housing -- it's asking for trouble.
    -sParty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

because GIANT