mtbr member

Alivio replacement ??

Hi all I'm new at cycling and I'd like some advice on replacing the Alivio rear derailleur on my Cannondale Sl4 29er , the bike is fairly new I bought it on Dec.1 and I have been riding a lot after about a month and a half of riding it started "crunching" a lot ,missing shifts and dropping the chain on numerous occasions causing me to come off the pedals and mashing myself against the top tube , after taking it to get a tune-up it helped it but it still misses shifts and just seems like the shifts engage way late under heavy pedaling so I decided not to wait anymore I figure It's a relatively in-expensive fix my problem is I simply don't know which derailleur i need to replace it I know that I'd like to use a Shimano Xt but I dont know which I need another thing is correct me if I'm wrong but I thought I've read that Sram x7 or x9 aren't compatible with the Shimano shifters in this case Aceras the bike is a 9 speed and many of the components I see that I think I could use seem to be for 10 speed drive trains .
    So could someone point me in the right direction here it all seems a bit confusing, thanks for reading all info will be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    sometimes you have to soft pedal while under load for the rear deraillure to shift, even on the nicer RD they still make alot of noise. I know on my X9 rear I have it sounds brutal if I am under load while shifting but it hurts nothing.

I would look into the SLX rear as well, would save you some money over the XT and be leaps ahead of your Alivio. If you are wanting to order yourself find out what type of pull your rear is now and order the same type of pull in the SLX or XT.

otherwise I would see if your LBS has the correct one in stock or will order one for you.

mtbr member