Thread Killer

After market rear derailleur jockey wheels?

Is anyone running after market rear derailleur jockey wheels? Just want to see if there is an option to OEM for my X0 derailleur wheels because they seem to get worn very fast.
    Cholla cactus=nature's guard rail.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Started with XTR wheels they seemed to wear quickly

So I changed to some Enduros...they lasted better but were not really any lighter or faster....

So then I dug out the best of the old XTR's and put them back on....

full circle I guess.

Maromero
    I've been using Extralite's for a couple of years, lightweight, durable and they spin OK.

Thread Killer
    Thanks for the responses. How long are the ceramic wheels supposed to last, mine seem to get down to nubs in 3 months or so. I've seen CNC'd jockey wheels on ebay, any thoughts on these?
    AL 6061 Sram Black 11t Road mtb bike Jockey Wheel Rear Derailleur Pulley 2pcs | eBay

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Hardluckhero View Post
    ...How long are the ceramic wheels supposed to last, mine seem to get down to nubs in 3 months or so...
    Wow, that sand in the Arizona desert must be pretty abrasive or you just ride a ton.

When it comes to derailleur pulleys, I don't think most of us can tell the difference from one to another unless the bearing was seized and is near lock up. I think any pulley that pleases your eye, pleases your wallet, and fits on your derailleur should work just fine.
    Go on ahead, I'm gonna take a breather.

Huckin' trails
    I usually clean the pulleys and bushings/bearings at the end of the season, and put them back using heavy wet chain lube. They spin alright and don't seem to catch crap as much as stock grease will do.
    Quote Originally Posted by NicoleB28 View Post
    topless. that's what all mtb girls do. we go ride, get topless, have pillow fights in the woods, scissor, then ride home!

Plays with tools