mtbr member

New question here. Advice please -- DIY or LBS ???

I'm doing a drivetrain upgrade on my '03 S-Works Epic. Some older parts started to go, and I would like some advice from shop/pro wrenches on whether it is worth doing the job myself, or taking it to my local mechanic...

My front XT der developed ton of play recently and a prodigous rattle. Meanwhile my rear (right) XT rapidfire shifter doesn't always engage when I use the thumb lever (probably some worn out internals), and I've been nursing it along for a year or so waiting till it completely failed. Now, the combo of the two problems is too aggravating to make it thru another 24hr race. Add to that that my rear XTR der is 5 yrs old, and I want to upgrade to rapid rise shifting pattern to help climbing...

So I have a new XT M761 front der, a new XTR M960 SGS rear der, and a pair of new XTR SL-M952 shifters + cables sitting at home.

I'm a relatively competent home/trail mechanic (I use a torque wrench, clean everything religiously, fix brakes, true wheels, etc) but I usually try to avoid adjusting my deraileurs. I've also heard from several sources that the drive train on the Epic can be tempermental to adjust... Should I take a swing at trying to set up the new rapid rise myself -- or should I just drop the bike off at the shop????

Thanks!

mtbr member
    i try to do as much as i can myself, if i get stuck i just got to the LBS then the cost is always minimized than if they did the whole job themselves.

i have a '04 Epic Marathon, and yes, you do you have to be very precise with the derailler set-up on it.

i like to change cassettes/chains at about 1000 miles, that seems to help save my shifters, still got '93 XT rapidfires on my GT hardtail with over 5000 miles on it and they still work like new. i've been biking for 15 years.

mtbr member
    I'd go for the DIY.. if you get really stuck adjusting, you'll have everything installed and it'd just need a tuning at the shop to get things right.