mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Advice on New Crank

Hey Guys, couple questions:

I have to replace my crankset (due to being an idiot and semi-beginner). I have an 05 Iron Horse Warrior Expert with a FSA Gamma Drive crankset. I want something similar to this setup but maybe a bit better. I have never changed a crankset, but I know a little bit about them. I am going to have a mechanic install it, but I need to know what to buy first. I think I would like to stay with the Megaexo style BB that was used in the FSA, so I think I want to replace with something near the equivalent (barring suggestions about BB from you guys, since I am really kind of new to this). I have looked at the Race Face X-type crankset and I think I like that one and found it for a decent deal. My questions is if it will fit and what do I need to know (specifications wise) about my bike before I purchase.

I brought this up on the beginner forumn, but I thought I might get better info here. Thanks in advance guys.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by jdwarrior05
    I have to replace my crankset (due to being an idiot and semi-beginner). I have an 05 Iron Horse Warrior Expert with a FSA Gamma Drive crankset. I want something similar to this setup but maybe a bit better.
    What happened to the crankset which necessitates its replacement? Broken crankarm? Bent chainring? What?...

Depending upon the answer, it may be less expensive to simply fix or replace the broken part instead of purchasing an entirely new crankset.

MTB B'dos

Ditto.....

What happened???....
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinB
    What happened to the crankset which necessitates its replacement? Broken crankarm? Bent chainring? What?...

Depending upon the answer, it may be less expensive to simply fix or replace the broken part instead of purchasing an entirely new crankset.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??
    MTB Barbados
    My Phantom pics

mtbr member