mtbr member
    Oct 2005

adjusting float on Time Atac XS?

Hi guys,

quick question here: how do I adjust the float on Time Atac XS pedals? I'm a noob to the clipless scene and already had 3 static falls. I'm hoping to loosen it so I can get out of the pedals easier. so how do i change the settings? thanks.

Freshly Fujified

I don't believe you can

Quote Originally Posted by norcallifter
    Hi guys,

quick question here: how do I adjust the float on Time Atac XS pedals? I'm a noob to the clipless scene and already had 3 static falls. I'm hoping to loosen it so I can get out of the pedals easier. so how do i change the settings? thanks.
    First, I believe you're talking about adjusting the tension, not float. The tension is what keeps the cleats secure into pedal by means of a spring mechanism on the pedal clip. I have a pair of Atac Aliums, and to the best of my knowledge, there is no way to adjust the tension. It could be different with the XS, I don't know. If you can't adjust tension, there could be two solutions for you. First is more time in the pedals. It takes a bit of getting used to the motion needed to clip out. Second is an issue I had which was the fact that the bolts on my cleats were loosening up, resulting an a few mm of lateral play in the cleats. The cleats need to be tightly secured to the shoe so that they move out of the pedal when clipping out. If they are loose, your foot may move, but the cleat stays in the pedal longer, because the cleat is not moving with your foot as a result of the play. Check the bolts on your cleats and make sure they are tightend down well. If not, I recommend taking the bolts out, dab a bit of blue loctite on them, the bolt them back down nice and tight.

I hope the explanation makes sense.

Bob
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member

Tension maybe, float - not on the pedal