Thread: 8 vs 9 speed

mtbr member
    Jun 2007

8 vs 9 speed

Hi all, newbie here so please excuse the dumb questions! I'm currently on an 8 speed hard tail and I've been running right along side the folks I ride with, but for some reason they all think I should convert to 9 speed, why? What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?

Next, if I up grade my rear derailuer does it have to be 8 speed specific? What about cranks? Thanks you guys!!

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I ride with a guy on a 8 speed, he does just fine.

You can get a rear cassette that is 11-34 now so you have the full range, and a really low granny, that is his only complaint (granny not low enough).

MTBR Demi-God
    Quote Originally Posted by Vicn PA
    Next, if I up grade my rear derailuer does it have to be 8 speed specific? What about cranks? Thanks you guys!!
    These days, most -if not all- the derailleurs are 8/9 speed compatible. You just purchase one derailleur, and they work on both 9 and 8 speed drivetrains. You need to adjust the limit screws for the appropriate drivetrain configuration though. Any 9 speed crank will work with an 8 speed drivetrain.
    "Winners never quit. Quitters never win. But those who never win and never quit are idiots."

mini clyde
    8 speed is fine. It's less "fiddly" to keep the shifting adjusted than 9 speed, if anything. I wouldn't upgrade unless all your 8 speed stuff was completely worn out and you could get a better deal on a 9 spd setup. Spend the money on better tires or more riding -- unless your driveline is seriously worn out and misbehaving changing from 8 to 9 won't improve your ride.

If you do decide to upgrade, you'll need to change cassette, shifters and chain together. The derailer you have will work fine with 9 speed if it's not worn out already. I prefer SRAM X.9 to Shimano, but XT/XTR Shimano is fine too.

Just my $0.02.

College Boy
    I think some one wrote it the best a while ago

8 speed
    "More gears than you need"