mtbr member
    Oct 2008

2x9 chain rubbing top gear when on lower

Ok, so I'm kinda new to biking and here's my problem, I have a 2006 specialized enduro expert. My set up is stock Truvativ Stylo with Black Spire Stinger shift guide, 24A/36A/alloy guard teeth, 9-speed, 11 - 34 teeth cassette, Shimano M-580 LX, 34.9mm clamp, top swing, dual pull front derailer, and SRAM X-9, 9-speed mid cage rear derailer. Any way I was going for a ride (mostly up hill) and my master link broke (SRAM PC-971 with Power Link) I was able to patch it together and make it to a REI store and had them put a new chain(SRAM PC-951 with Power Link) on as I was determined to go on this ride now!!! So as I leave I hear a rubbing sound, I assumed it was due to some front derailer minor adjustment, and found it didn't make the sound on the top ring. So I finished my ride and start trying to figure out my new sound. I did find my cranks were a turn and a half loose but after tightening it there was no change. I've looked around and determined that I have the correct chain. I'm not sure if the wear on the gears is causing this, REI said my wear was ok but....not sure if I trust them. So after the power of google search I have turned to ask for help from you guys. Thanks for any insight...Oh, it rubs if chain is on bottom ring, tallest rear gear, not crossing the chain... HELP!!

mtbr member
    It sounds like your front derailleur is not adjusted. Try going to youtube and type in front derailleur adjustment. They have a ton of videos on tuning your front and rear derailleur.
    C-DALE FLASH 29 Carbon 2 (19.6 lbs)
    C-DALE BB1

AZ
    banned
    Sounds like the front derailuer needs a minor adjustment , here is a link that will help you make the adjustment .

www.sheldonbrown.com/derailer-adjustment.html -

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    It doesn't touch the front derailer, the chain has rubbed all the anadized off the top gear, like the chain is to fat....

mtbr member