Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1x9 for rough trails?

896 views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Speedub.Nate 
#1 ·
On my 04 Trek 6700 i have a 44-32-22 fr and 11-34 rear, which i would like to switch to a single 34t ring in the front because i like it simple, i deal with a lot of mud and crap, my bike is too heavy, and i don't use the 22 or the 44 anyways. i have been hearing a lot about chain tension issues with this kind of setup... iwill be using a non-ramped chainring, but i'm going to be riding some pretty rough trails, and racing mostly too, so i want a no-fuss setup that will not derail. how to do?

#2 ·
2 Options....

I have been running this setup for over 2 years.

First Option: Run a Rohloff chain guide. Setup is extremely critical. You need to drop the chainguide as low as possible without it hitting the crankset. You also need to run the minimum spacers in front and back of the guide, and not hit the chain. The front will have less space and the back more to accomodate the full range of the cassette.

Second Option: Run a bash ring outside and a guide up against the chain so that it does not come off.

Both options MAY require a chain tensioner like the MRP/LRP or the Heim guide if you are dropping the chain. Personally, unless you do a lot of rock gardens, you should be ok.

Later Mon.

#3 ·
YaMon said:
I have been running this setup for over 2 years.

First Option: Run a Rohloff chain guide. Setup is extremely critical. You need to drop the chainguide as low as possible without it hitting the crankset. You also need to run the minimum spacers in front and back of the guide, and not hit the chain. The front will have less space and the back more to accomodate the full range of the cassette.

Second Option: Run a bash ring outside and a guide up against the chain so that it does not come off.