mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Used 2011 Trek Session 88 for $2200???

I'm a newbie to DH and am looking for DH bike. Someone is selling Trek 2011 Session 88 for $2200. I saw that MSRP was little over $6000. Is it normal that person selling dropped price by $4000 in just a couple of years.

Do you think its stolen?
    A spotless bike is a bored bike.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012

RE: Used 2011 Trek Session 88 for $2200???

As soon as you walk out a shop a brand new 2013 bike would loose 30% for lack of warranty and second owner.

2 year old bike I'd except at least 50% off if it was in excellent condition. Its a DH bike, so could have had a lot of abuse.

I think the problem is most people over price when they try to sell a bike. Sounds a fair price to me.
    Sent from my HTC6990LVW using Board Express

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    If it's in good condition I'd say it's a good deal. You're getting a bike with a Fox 40, Fox DHX RC4 shock, Shimano Saint cranks, SRAM X.O r/d and shifters, and Avid Elixir brakes. I'm not to hot on the Bontrager stuff like seat, bars and wheels, but decent stuff none the less. That's if it's all original stock.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Oh and the frame ain't to bad either!

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Got my DHR for 50% off retail when it was 6 months old, barely ridden. Paid $3500, retailed for $7250. Not sure if it was stolen. Could it have been? Yes. Do I care? No. I didn't ask the previous owner if he jacked it, so I don't know.