Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Under-the-jersey body armor options?

I'm fairly new to DH and ride hard, so protection is a priority over fashion. But I would like to have both, if possible...

I've got a 661 vapor suit right now. I was hoping it would fit under a loose 3/4 sleeve jersey without looking like a football player. Not really. I could just rock the armor with nothing over it, but I'm wondering what others do.

Is the 661 EVO Pressure suit worth it? It looks low profile enough to wear under a jersey, but I'd be concerned about the protection which it would offer. Elbow and shoulder protection are the foremost concerns.
    idiom - raleigh hard rock
    http://www.idiomband.com

Slap happy crappiness
    I use the 661 Subgear Compression suit which is lighter protection than the Pressure Suit and have been fine.
    But dropping $250 on some 661 suit to me isn't worth it unless they've changed their quality. Their stuff has always fit horribly, stupid long in the sleeves, falls apart quickly, etc...
    Never ridden it but I'm thinking about trying the TLD BP7855 suit.
    http://www.troyleedesigns.com/produc...t=104&id=18399
    I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

my fun has a hurting
    either the subgear compression stuff or the coresaver if you are set on 661. i use the former for most of my riding and the later for super gnar or the first few runs at a new system.

Slow Patrol
    Oct 2005
    I like the Rockgardn flak jacket. Besides protection, it breathes pretty well to help keep you cool.

mtbr member
    I have always worn my body armor under my jersey while DH'ing. I use RockGardn' armor.
    When I used to Moto years ago, the protection was on the outside. Mostly roost protection but it helped if you bit it.

I was dirt-biking in Costa Rica last fall and went down hard at some speed. I was wearing my body armor inside of the jersey and my jersey was more or less ruined.