Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Titanium hardware kit

Wondering where these peeps get their titanium screw/bolt/hardware kits

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Until recently, I have ordered for Toronto Cycles. On my order a few weeks ago, appearantly they were out of the size screw I wanted and fulfilled it with the incorrect length, assuming I wouldn't care. WTF? I then ordered on eBay and couldn't be happier with the prompt service and quality of product.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Keep in mind, most MFG's don't reccomend Ti bolts to be used in the linkages in stuff, they're just too weak compared to grade 12.9 steel bolts. I also wouldn't risk using them on your stem or anything.

I'm not an expert, but to me shaving a few grams isn't worth the sense of security that steel brings.

life on 2 wheels
    Apr 2012
    i have ti rotor bolts, hs33 bolts (extended for brake booster), stem, pedal axles, bb, female bolts for hubs. have not had one problem. i was breaking the heads off of grade 8 and 8.5 on my hs33s. finally dropped the cash for some ti and couldnt be happier.

also shaved over a pound so my trials bike come out just over 20lbs.

i got mine from tartybikes.co.uk. but its will require loosing a limb to afford it.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I figured that if a ti axle on a pedal can handle the shear loads out on it, a bolt contained in a dampened shock should be fine.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    I'll use Ti bolts anywhere. Been doing so for 15 years and never had one break.

Aluminum is a different story, it is fine for low load applications like brake lever clamps, derailleur bolts, but anything with shear or needing enough clamping force to resist body weight forget it.

Surprisingly Specialized specs an M6 aluminum bolt for the front shock mount on the S-works Stumpjumper... so maybe material choice is not so intuitive at times. I still run Ti there though.