mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Replacing my suspension: 2004 Big Hit Comp

I am running a stock 2004 big hit comp and I am ready to think about putting in some solid suspension.

I am rocking a Marzocchi DJ 2 with 150mm travel in the front and an Answer Manitou Swinger with 5.5" travel in the rear.

I weigh 170lbs and like freeride/all mountain stuff. Flow jump/drop/gap lines and trips to Whistler. I am looking for a decent upgrade and don't want to spend over 1k$ total between the two.

Anyone have any tips for me? I am pretty new to bike part replacement like this, so be kind!

mtbr member
    Hey man, i rocked that bike for 2.5 years and did the upgrades as well. you can't go wrong with the DHX coil, and if you go up to the 8.5 x 2.75 you'll gain an inch of travel in the rear as well.

up front, thats up to you, ANYTHING will be better than that DJ2. those suckers were crazy stiff. On a budget, i've been hearing great things about the domains, i'm even about to pick up a 318 uturn for my AM sled. but if you're really able to spend 1k$, find a used DHX 5.0 and pickup a boxxer Race team, you can find em on bike bling right now for like 750$ or something if you put in the "realdeal" coupon code. I had a manitou travis that i'm still riding on my current ride as well i picked up on pinkbike for 250 bucks that is still going strong. not much love out there for manitou, but it's been a huge upgrade for me for plushness.

however I did just re-read your post and given you're more into the FR/AM stuff, i'd say get a single crown Domain, or the coil Lyrik in the 170mm.... may be better for climbing over the 200 mm dual crown...that's more of a DH setup.

good luck!
    Last edited by yomattyo; 03-22-2010 at 11:13 PM.
    2009 Santa Cruz Nomad
    2008 Transition Blinside

Bikes are kewl.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007