mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Rear shock for larger rider learning to jump?

I'm riding a 2002 Devinci Magma: 2002 Devinci Magma - BikePedia

With a 190mm KS 291 rear shock: ks

I weigh 210lbs and have been bottoming out on this cheap shock while learning how to jump. Can you folks recommend a better shock that I can put on this bike while I'm still learning how to make softer landings?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I wouldn't waste money investing it into that bike. Get yourself on a budget or do some overtime so you can save up some coin for something newer.
    I'm going to rob banks til I retire or get caught. Either way I'm set for life

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    what would I be looking for in a newer bike? better rear suspension design? longer travel? this bike is in excellent shape so I'd like to beat on it for a season or two.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bees View Post
    what would I be looking for in a newer bike? better rear suspension design? longer travel? this bike is in excellent shape so I'd like to beat on it for a season or two.
    Better everything really. Bikes in general, and FS bikes especially have come a long way since 2002.
    Putting a decent shock on that bike is probably a bit of a waste, but you should be able to get a stiffer spring for less than $40.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    You could get a faAAAAAAr better bike with a muUUUUUUUch better shock used for the price of a brand new shock to put on that thing.Putting money on that bike is a complete waste and if you want to learn how to jump you should get a hardtail

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    I have a hard tail I'm learning to jump on as well but I'm keeping this bike for another year or two and would like to spend $100-200 to upgrade the rear shock because it bottoms out on the trails I'm using it on.

The current shock has a 750lb spring on it but it's very soft and is probably worn out, any idea where to get a replacement?