mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Padded impact shorts?

I purchased a set of Sette impact shorts from Pricepoint. I noticed that the large hip pads get in the way when pedalling. I looked @ a few others on- line & the Hoots and 661 bombers look like you could pedal better w/ them. Any suggestions, brands? Thanx

Jm.
    mtbr member
    huggies?
    I know in my heart that Ellsworth bikes are more durable by as much as double. AND they are all lighter...Tony Ellsworth

TNC
    noMAD man

Huggies?...you're bad...LMAO!

Quote Originally Posted by Jm.
    huggies?
    Well, seriously, I've had no experience with padded bicycle shorts, but I have used a set of FOX lycra motorcycle innershorts for more protection on some particularly gnary rides I knew I was going to do. These things have some insert pads that slip into some slots in 3 places in the shorts--sides (hips) and crotch area. The pads are not so large as to be obtrusive or annoying. You can wear a pair of regular baggy shorts over these, so the whole deal is similar to a pair of bicycle baggies with a lycra inner liner. The pads are unique on these Fox innershorts in that they have bunches of holes designed in them so they breathe, which is a real advantage on a bike. Just another take on what you're trying to accomplish. Oh, and Jm...no comments on "pads", "wings", "maxi" or anything like that...LOL!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by TNC