Thread: Nukeproof Snap?

mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Nukeproof Snap?

I bumped an older thread but I figured I'd ask in here. Would this be an OK DH/FR bike? It will be commuted on as well. The price isn't so bad about $1200 shipped. The only thing is the seat is very low.

mtbr member
    That is not a DH/FR bike, nor something I would want to commute any real distance on.
    If you want an actual DH/FR bike for that price you will need to look at used stuff, but that's going to be the antithesis of a good commuting bike.
    Last edited by cerebroside; 03-18-2013 at 02:25 PM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    I'm still looking. What sounded good probably won't work.

I think I'm stuck on hardtail a for now as I'm a beginner. If I could keep the price at or below $1500 I think I'll survive. Salsa's El Mariachi seems close and Jenson has a Banshee Paradox for $1700. I am trying to stay new for less headaches.

perpetual pucker factor
    The thought of using a Demo or V10 to commute the 9 miles to my workplace each day makes my legs, lungs, and wallet want to cry. Sounds like a good hardtail or possibly a 4-5" all mountain bike might fit your purposes much better than a DH bike. There are a LOT of people out there that get full DH bikes because they are super rad looking, have 85,000" of travel, and they can brag to their friends about how rad their DH bike is. Many of these bikes become expensive garage ornaments after a year or two because DH bikes only really do one thing well: go down hills. Not up, not flat. Just down.

Just bear in mind that 'staying new to avoid headaches' will not be as easy as it sounds. A new bike, with its brand new components in that price range might not have the best components on it. A used (not abused, mind you) higher-end group may very well give you less problems in the long run. I for one would rather get a used X0 or XT component group over a brand new Deore or X7 group any day of the week.