mtbr member
    Jan 2013

New Suspension for Ellsworth Rogue

As the title already says I have an Ellsworth Rogue frame at home and I want to build it up from scratch with a new fork and a new rear shock. As for the fork I'm leaning towards a Bos Idylle SC with 180mm travel. Regarding the rear shock I consider a Cane Creek Double Barrel, Fox DHX or Bos Stoy. The only thing is that I am pretty heavy at the moment (about 235 lbs incl. Equipment) what would you recommend???

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    i am a huge fan of bos. i have been running a ndee for 3 years now and it's been faultless. also have a deville on my hardtail been using that for just over 12 months.
    the deville has been great though when new had to go back after 1 ride as it was shipped from the factory with no oil in the airside leg.
    lucky for me at the time here in the uk we still had a bos distributor/ service centre so it was easily fixed and returned to me in days.
    now the only downside to bos ownership is the customer service, it's practically none existant. we in the uk now dont have a distributor anymore as r53 pulled out due to issues with bos themselves.
    everytime i have tried to email bos i get no reply, though one time i did get lucky and finally got a response 4 weeks after emailing them. and that was regarding service for the ndee. i was told it would have to be sent back to france.
    like i said they make fantastic products, but dont back them up, so unless you have a dealer/distributor/service center in your area or country then i wouldnt bother. unless you want the hassle of shipping back and forth to france everytime somthing goes wrong, thats of course assuming you get a reply off bos.

if you do have a dealer/distributor, before you buy have a good chat with them to see how they find dealing with bos. from what i hear for the first 12 months they are great to deal with, then after that it becomes impossible.