mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Need more rise and closer - stem and handlebars

I want more rise and the bars closer to me. Looking for the shortest stem with or without rise (rise would be better).

Looking also for bars with lots of rise.

I have a Thompson stem - 0 degrees, 70 x 31.8

I run spank wide bars with 50mm rise.

Looking to go much higher and closer to me.

I've looked around and haven't found anything I really like yet.

Anyone have ideas?

Thanks for your help

Slap happy crappiness
    Need more rise and closer - stem and handlebars-khebikes-anchorv2chrome-2012-bmxbar-01.jpg

But seriously, finding a decent DH/FR bar in a rise higher than 50mm will be hard. Best I could find was the Azonic World Force bar that comes in 3in ride.
    Might wanna doing to review reading on the bar though, Azonic isn't known for high-quality stuff.
    Azonic World Force Bar: 31.8 - O'Neal Motocross
    Last edited by DHgnaR; 04-11-2013 at 03:34 PM.
    I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

mtbr member
    Yep.

A few companies are making 35mm stems. Just know that as you shorten your stem, you also lower it. Maybe look for a 50mm stem with some rise. 50mmx10 degrees acts like a 40mm stem for reach but adds 10mm of height.

Atomlab is making a 3"x29.5" riser bar as well. If you want more than that Immortis makes some sick steel 32x4" riser bars but you'll have to use a BMX stem (22.2mm clamp) and it'll be really hard to find one shorter than 50mm. I've got them on my dirt jumper and they're solid but heavy, and I'm really tall so they work out fine with the short travel fork and short headtube.