Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

My 2012 Marin Team DH Build

21K views 108 replies 29 participants last post by  rep_1969 
#1 ·
I will add pics as parts arrive.

See less See more
#61 ·
I run this chain on my Niner A9C with the same ring and cog and on my wife's Niner with the same ring and cog and I'm really only going to be coasting like I did last Summer and It's Black and Light! Fashion over function, always. I am a hair stylist.;)

#65 ·
1/8th inch chains fit on 7/8/9 speed cogs with no problem. Never dealt with one on a 10speed cog, so I don't know about that.

but when building a single speed bike from scratch, on this sort of budget, wouldn't it make sense to get all singlespeed specific parts? may as well have what will work best and last longest.

#67 ·
Well I finally got a response from Chris King. When I told them that I placed my order on September 13th. they were like, "Whaaaaaaaaat? Let me see what happened." They promised me that they would be here this week so hopefully I get my wheels built up next week. Building them myself and don't know whether to go all black spokes or 2 white spokes around the valve. We'll see what happens.

#69 ·
Looking good! I love the over the top color matching! That's exactly what I would do if I didn't have a budget for my bike builds. Plus we all know blue and orange are complimentary colors so the color scheme is tits! Can't wait to see the final build pics!

#71 ·
Well here they are, my Chris King DH hubs!!! They got here on February 29th. after being on order since September 13th. 2012. I'm gonna build the wheels next week if I can find the time and now the wait for my FOX 40 starts. Should be here soon but that's what King told me. ;)

Attachments

#86 ·
Sorry but I can only build as fast as parts come in and YES it's killing me. It shouldn't because I'm not going DHing until June and then July but I still want it finished.