mtbr member
    May 2012

Making the move to clipless

I'm seriously considering making the move to clipless on my dh bike. Whenever I finally get my trail bike built, I'll have clipless on that too so I just want to be consistent! I know its kind of a personal preference thing, so I won't be asking if I should or shouldn't (if I hate clipless on my dh bike, i'll just put them on my trail bike, so I won't lose anything). My question is just if anyone has any good recommendations for shoes and pedals since this is a completely new arena for me

Off the back...
    I like Shimano shoes and pedals. The DX M647 clipless are awesome and hard to kill. Shoes that have the cleat position farther back than normal/XC are good 'cause you can drop your heel without stretching your Achilles tendon too far.

mtbr member
    I've been riding Mallets for close to 5 years. Picked up a set of the DH Race version recently, and will say that they're a huge improvement over the last generation. The OG ones with metal body and traction pins were really good, and they definitely replicated that feeling with these pedals.

FWIW I have the 5.10 clipless Minaar shoes. Work great if you need to get off the bike to push it back up the hill.
    Build.
    Ride.
    Repeat.

mtbr member
    Yep, Mallet DHs. There's a reason that a huge portion of the clipless DH riders use them. The latest version is great. The platform is nice and big to add some stability, VERY easy to clip into and out of in a hurry, zero mud clogging issues, and a bit of float so you don't accidentally release if your foot squirms around a bit. That part about fast clil-ins is very valuable to me. Worst feeling in the world is still struggling to get clipped in while you're rolling into something steep and scary.