mtbr member

Losing stoke (And/Or getting old)?

Don't know what's going on but I'm not feeling a lot of stoke riding lately. Just as a background... I've been riding mtb on a regular basis for 5 years, and a fair amount of DH the last 3. I'm turning 47 this year so I'm not aggressive or go big but in the past, I used to feel a good level of nervous excitement before and during rides. Lately, it just hasn't been the case. I think the only rare time I felt that way was when I hit something new, and honestly, it doesn't feel as big a deal as it did before. Even trying out new trails doesn't excite me as much. BTW, before people suggest I should just go bigger, I think I've reached a mental point that a certain type/size jump is probably beyond the reach of my skill/courage/risk level... struggling to get there just gets too exhausting, you know?

Is this just a phase? Or is it because I am not as aggressive as I was before? Perhaps its because I've been doing the same trails?

Anyway, I wonder if other people go through similar stages. If so, how do you snap out of the doldrums? I've just committed to learning how to manual so I can improve as a rider (30 day wheelie/manual challenge). I hope that helps get the stokage up... lol!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Are you riding solo or with others?

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator
    I'm 50 and a hopeless gear junkie. With all the new stuff coming out these days...the stoke NEVER dies!
    "The mind will quit....well before the body does"

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by the-one1 View Post
    Are you riding solo or with others?
    It's a mix. Sometimes I ride solo, sometimes it's a group ride. I definitely enjoy the group rides more, if merely for the guy banter. LOL!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Zachariah View Post
    I'm 50 and a hopeless gear junkie. With all the new stuff coming out these days...the stoke NEVER dies!