Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Long-ish term review: Canfield The One

I've been gushing for a few months about my new ride, a 2012 Canfield The One. It's time I post up something resembling a full review of the bike, rather than just saying the usual, 'it pedals really well' mantra for which the One has become known. So here it is. It's going to be rather long, but more information is always better than less when you're about to drop the big bucks on a new frame. I will try to respond thoroughly to the questions and doubts that I had while I was deciding on a new frame.

WARNING: long post ahead. If you don't want to read it all, you don't have to. But if you're seriously looking into the bike and want honest info, go ahead and read.

In the interest of full disclosure, I do not know the Canfield Brothers at all, although I met them once, years ago, riding Bobsled in Salt Lake. Didnt' know it was them at the time. I don't know any of their employees either. I'm not being paid or compensated in any way by them, and I really am trying to remain as objective as I can about this bike. If something is less than stellar, I'll be honest about it. Since I had never test ridden a Canfield before ordering the frame, I was a bit worried that I had possibly purchased the wrong bike. I want people to be able to make a good decision and get the bike that they want, that's all.

History:
    To put it into context, I'm 32 years old, 6'3" tall, I tip the scales at 240ish lbs geared up. I'm a big guy of caber-tossing Scottish heritage. I'm a former motocross racer, and I like to ride fast. Not all that into slopestyle hoppy jumpy park stuff. I can usually be found pounding rock gardens and fast singletrack.

I live in Salt Lake City, Utah. I enjoy lots of varied terrain, ranging from spring slop/clay to mulchy forest, dust on hardpack, and Moab's sandpaper. I like it all.