mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Just bought my first DH bike for $870 (Mongoose ECD) and got some newbie questions

I just got them and they feel great, first time riding a DH bike.

I'm a tech guy so i went through every bolt on the bike and am ordering
    some stuff from ebay (break pads, grips etc).

I wanted to know about the front and rear shocks, when do i need to
    change/add oil, do i need to do this once a while or only when performance is going down? Same question goes for the hydraulic
    brake fluid.

One thing that i didn't understand is that the rear shock has two
    dials, one that makes it stiffer or softer and one on the back of the
    spring that says rebound something...I tried fiddling with it and i didn't
    feel a change.

The brake levers are a bit loose and wiggle if i move them up and down. Is there a way to fix that? I didn't see any screw for adjustment.

Thanks,
    Roy.

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    I suggest searching the forums for these questions, as they have been answered EXTENSIVELY in other threads.

As for the rear shock, probably a rebound and compression setting, if you do not feel a difference they shock may be blown, but I doubt it. You will have to ride the bike to feel the changes. I would do a search on what rebound and compression are, as these have also been answered EXTENSIVELY in other threads.

Also, for suspension questions, I suggest listing the model of your fork and rear shock if you have questions, as specs vary by manufacturer and model.

Keep it gangsta, gangsta.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Also I have better luck searching these threads using google instead of the search function here.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    I found many how to guides for replacing oils etc but i didn't find
    any explanation regarding the reason for servicing.
    Why to change oil? Is it a time factor or only when the shocks don't
    rebound the same as before?

btw, I'm changing from a 9 speed to a 7 speed and i have seen that