the giant.

Iron Horse SGS Pro. Any good?

im looking at buying a 2004 iron horse sgs pro from a guy on craigslist. as far as i know its stock. this will be my first dh quality bike. im more of a beginner into dh. i have plenty of mtb experience, but nothing is the dh catategory.

is this bike good for what i need?

I could gap that.
    Jul 2008
    Depends on how much you're picking it up for. I mean, it's an alright bike for intro to DH, but depending on the price... You can find Kona Stinky's for around $800ish if that's more than what you are looking to spend, or not.

I was going by this build... http://www.bikepedia.com/QUICKBIKE/B...ride&Type=bike
    Demo 8
    P1
    http://www.chainsmokeracing.net/
    Sponsors: Twenty6, ODI, Elka, Crank Bros, Sixsixone, Azonic, Specialized

mtbr member
    It'll work. Just check the area that's welded by the seat mast and down tube. My 03 cracked there. They were known for it. ttyl, Fahn

eat your porridge jordie
    SGS would be better than a Stinky. I have an 04 expert and it was a rocking bike until I cracked the chainstay right in front of the pivot. Check it over carefully, especially the pivots as it is very hard to source parts for these bikes now. If it has the DH link it will be better for full on dh, slacker HTA and beefier dropout area.
    "If you want to do something ordinary people can't, you have to be willing to do what ordinary people won't"

Elitest thrill junkie
    I would make sure the SGS has the upgraded chainstays. They were flexy and prone to breaking. They did release an improved chainstay available as an "upgrade" a little later. Visually it is easy to tell, so if you have a picture that would help. The original chainstays looked like they were from an XC bike and had no business on a DH bike.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth