Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    DownhillBAWS

How to approach a jump

Hey guys, I was wondering what is the best position to put my body in when approaching a steep jump. Whenever I hit a steep jump I don't feel loose and I do not get that much air. I have no probs on any other type of jump just the really steep ones get me. Any advice?
    Just take off the silver part you'll still have the pretty anodized partion, and you'll ride much faster. As fast as a 29er!

mtbr member
    May 2011
    I'm no expert but ill give you my experiences on jumping.

When I started mtb I used to just go over all jumps with no preparation. Basically I used to stiffen up nervously and hit the jump and basically pray I would somehow land ok. Obviously not good.

After I learned to bunny hop i used to try do that on jumps. Pull up on the bars and then kind of lift the back a bit on the lip. This worked better than praying but still wasn't great. Sometimes the back would buck or I would lift the handlebars too hard. So in air balance really wasn't great and I had no idea which wheel was going to land first.

Finally the best method I learned was to stay really loose, crouched, with chest forward. When you enter the ramp you then push the bike down and forward into the face of the ramp. This compresses the bike and when it gets to the lip it should want to pop now. At this point you can relax and straighten out a bit for a small lift or stand tall and really unload your weight from both the pedals and handlebars to really pop off the lip.

Again I'm no expert but one thing that frustrated me about mtb was that no one could clearly explain anything to me. Lots of people would say I sucked at something but then be unable to explain what I can do better to fix it. Watch me would be the answer but watching someone else is not easy when they can't explain what they doing because they just do it subconsciously.

DownhillBAWS