mtbr member
    May 2009

Hope Tech M4 or Tech V2

Hi.
    I'm running Hope Mono M4 in front (those black'n'gold series) and Avid Juicy 3 rear.My weight with a bike is around 108 kg and I ride in DH.My Hope has a lot of modulation but it feels like its lacking power,its hard to block a wheel.So I need Your opinion guys who rode those Hope's.On front i need something with bigger power but with same modulation as my M4,for rear I need BIG modulation but with bigger power than at least Juicy 7
    1.Is new Hope Tech M4 more powerfull than the old M4
    2.Does Tech V2 have the same modulation as M4?
    3.What kind of set do You recommend for front/rear
    I was also thinking about new Saints for front and Elixir R for rear.Elixirs have the power and modulation I need for rear but I heard that they have some problems with levers?
    I'm sorry for any mistakes made in this text.I'm not good at english.
    Please help.
    Cheers

...idios...
    I always saw the M4s difficulty to lock as being something of a plus point, but that may just be my preference. Are you 108kg yourself, or does that include your bike?

"1.Is new Hope Tech M4 more powerfull than the old M4"

Hope say yes and they also say that modulation hasn't suffered with the increase in size of the smaller piston. The absolute lack of flex in the Tech lever is a world away from the Mini lever you're using currently. The lever blade is also ergonomically much improved, having dispensed with the flat front in favour of narrower, shallower face with holes for added grip. It fits very comfortably in my finger.

"2.Does Tech V2 have the same modulation as M4?"

The V2 is quite bitey, with a much shorter range of modulation than the previous M4. That said, the Tech lever is very adjustable, providing plenty of scope for altering the feel of the brake. In its own right, I would still say that the V2 has good modualtion.

"3.What kind of set do You recommend for front/rear "