mtbr member

FR Headset: Sunline V-One DH, Race face Diabolus, FSA DH Pig?

I'm building a new FR bike and looking for a headset. Currently my LBS has me down for a Chris King @ $100 but after a bit of searching the forums it seems lots of guys are using cheaper FSA DH Pigs with good results.

The Race Face Diabolus looks like a real contender too, and it runs $65. The Sunline is a little less than $100 too, but with its shallow depth brings up another concern:

My new frame alone is upwards of $2700, meaning the last thing I want to do is get a cheap headset and ovalize my headtube on a gnarly hit. Should I be looking into something with deep stainless steel cups? I'm not a headset expert...

Meh.
    King is bling. But they've got a couple design issues. They tend to be a bit creaky with long travel SC forks.

I really doubt that you'll ovalize your headtube. If you're worried, maybe you should look at a headset with deep insertion. The FSA Pig DH Pro comes in a deep cup. The King Steelset has a ton of insertion. I had a Pig DH Pro for a while, no issues. Solid headset for a low price.

Brackish
    Looking around the bike room right now, I see and FSA Pig ($20) on the Dirtbag, a Cane Creek OEM headset on my wife's Dawg, FSA Orbit Z 1.5 on her Bottle Rocket, FSA Pig OEM on my Coiler D, and two more FSA Pigs ($20): one on my Fetish Cycles Obsession (soon to be swapped onto my new Trail or Park) and one waiting to be installed on my wife's Rocky Mountain Flow. All work great and have had no problems. Nowadays you really don't need to drop big money to get a decent threadless headset, just to get a fancy name.

Meh.
    The Pig DH Pro uses sealed cartridge bearings, the other is loose ball.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    No real experience with the Sunline so I can't comment. The Raceface Diabolus, the FSA DH pig pro and the Chris King are all great head sets and will perform well. I guess what it comes down to is bling factor and price for the most part.