mtbr member
    Jul 2011

First DH ride - Boxxer didn't use all travel

I got an Aurum 2 2012 and went for a first ride yesterday. Amazing ride btw Simply put, the fork feels too stiff, even with the compression wheel at its minimum. Can't get a good sag either.

Honestly I'm new to these kind of forks. What would I need to change to get all it's travel? Should I remove preload spacers (pinkbike review said they needed to do that)? Completely change coil spring weight?

My weight is 195lbs without gears. I don't know what coil spring I currently have in there (probably blue/firm tho).
    Main bike : Altitude RSL 70 '11
    DH bike : Aurum 2 '12

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    What is your sag percentage? You may want to remove some preload, but I wouldnt buy a new spring until you give it a few rides to get used to it. If this is your first DH bike, youre going to ride harder and use more travel every time you take it out.

Perpetual Hack
    How much travel did you use?
    What were you riding - ie gnar factor?

RS from my experience normally ship with the medium spring installed; however that is not to say that Norco did not spec the fork with the firm spring.

michael
    A Dirtbag since 1969.
    A Knomer since 2007.

Knolly Podium V.2
    Knolly Delirium
    Knolly Delirium-T
    RM Slayer . . .

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by mykel View Post
    How much travel did you use?
    What were you riding - ie gnar factor?

RS from my experience normally ship with the medium spring installed; however that is not to say that Norco did not spec the fork with the firm spring.

michael
    It's my first DH bike. Well let's say the highest I got in the whole ride was a distance of about 2 inches between rubber ring and crown. It was pretty much trails with roots, rocks, small jumps, 3 ft drops and medium hits.