mtbr member

Extreme x7 vs.Astrix Huckster

Hello,
    Im new to DH, after trying my first local race in rainy super muddy conditions,I knew my 5 inch trail bike was not just cutting it.
    Shortish Pike fork and skinny 2.1 ust tires etc. plus lack of experience and technique had me over the bars a couple of times. the small beginners drops were ok but running into unexpected dips in the mud endoed the bike too easily.

Anyway im looking into an Extreme x7 or Astrix Huckster equivalent(Shawn)as a first DH bike.Im too old and slow(doing it for fun ) to get a full DH rig , I just want a bike thats more suited to the conditions.

The X7 can be bought whole and the Astrix with 7 or 8 inch fork can be built up for roughly the same price.
    Which of the 2 will make a better DH bike?
    Thanks in advance.

Thunder Chunky
    Id go for the Astrix...from what I hear Haro arent the best quality bikes but like always I could be wrong and someone is going to say that I am...
    Purple Popcorn

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    you can build a astrix huckster for 2k?

show me your build list plz..

clyde in training
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt 891
    you can build a astrix huckster for 2k?

show me your build list plz..
    just find good deals and you can build it for as much as you want

mtbr member
    The extreme X7 goes for around 1.5k brand new built bike here in our country and an Astrix huckster (shawn) same frame (identical), same factory model different names goes for 705 dollars frame only.Rest of the parts can be bought used.Still will come out a little bit more than a fully built Haro.
    Thanks for the replies.

mtbr member
    I would get the Huckster, better suspension...and yes you can build one for under 2k.

-R
    -R

Oakland
    2010 Titus El Guapo
    2011 Corsair Crown

http://www.titusti.com/2010/
    http://www.corsairbikes.com/

Waiting for Godot
    huckster is supa strong, better geo and more versatile.