Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Downhill Shoes Feedback (Footwear Design Intern)

Hi Everybody,

I'm a footwear design intern and I am currently working on designing a downhill shoe as a personal/side project. I'm pretty new to downhill (although I've been mountain biking for a while) but I've decided to give it a try because it's something I've always wanted to do (just went up to Highland last weekend in NH).

Anyway, I was just wondering if you guys would be willing to give me any feedback on the shoes that you ride in. As in pros and cons (ie breathability, comfort, stability, grip, styling, support, etc...), things that you wish the shoe had/didn't have, or even what your ideal downhill shoe would be like.

I have done some preliminary research and talked to several people already, but I think that it would be far more valuable to get to hear all of your opinions. From reading other forums and talking to some people, I have been able to gather that a lot of people really love the five tens (both the impact and the freerider) especially because of their grip. It has been obviously harder, though, to find information/ feedback on some of the other shoes.

Anyway, anybody who would like to share your opinion about the shoes you use for downhill (either past or current) or share any other thoughts on downhill shoes, I would love to hear what you have to say. Thanks in advance for all of your help!

Professional Troll
    Make 5.10's with proper toe protection and you'll have a perfect shoe. For some reason all MTB shoe companies think "Gee lets put good toe protection on our XC shoes. But there is NO WAY that people riding through rock gardens at mach 10 on DH bikes would want such a simple feature".

Pro Crastinator
    Quote Originally Posted by Gemini2k05 View Post
    ...riding through rock gardens at mach 10...
    slowpoke...

mtbr member
    Jul 2009