Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Ugly As F*ck

DH/park bike for a non-racer?

I am still new to DH so I am pretty slow and unskilled. I will be moving very close to a bike park, so I'll be there pretty much every weekend when it's open. I plan on getting a dedicated bike for the park, but not sure what I should get...

Is a full on DH bike built more with the racer in mind? I wouldn't mind getting "fast" at DH, but I don't see it happening any time soon. Also I have no intentions of racing, whether it be DH or otherwise. Would I have more fun at the park on a slightly smaller FR bike?

I'm looking at a used KHS Lucky 7. Would that suffice for what I'd be using it for? At least for a season or two?

Total Goober
    Sep 2009
    Really depends on the park...
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuglio View Post
    You guys suck im all bummed now

Ugly As F*ck
    Northstar will be the one I'm living near. However I'll likely hit a few others up on the move out there. Angel Fire for sure, and possibly Winter Park and Deer Valley area parks if I head farther north.

Total Goober
    Sep 2009
    Angel Fire has some of the gnarliest, rockiest terrain around. I would want a true DH bike there (more travel, dual crown fork, slacker geo). Winter Park can be ridden on a 7" bike, and there is only one trail where you'll wish you had a DH bike (Trestle DH).

I can't speak for the other two. I don't race, but I have a Demo 8 for the resorts. If price is a concern, the Speshy Status is a great new bike for the price.

Airborne Flight Crew
    I'd want an 8 inch bike for Northstar, they have a good variety of terrain there - even though you could get by on a 7" single-crown, an 8 inch crown will give you room to grow, and might help make up for lack of skill as you grow.