Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

DH/FRd's...SURF???

2K views 48 replies 21 participants last post by  pdirt 
#1 ·
Thought I would ask if any of you guys surf? I have been surfing for 10 years and most of my friends who surf also DH/FR bike.

#2 ·
I do surf but not real well. I've always been involved with board sports - wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, and surfing. Just picked up a new 5'11" tri-fin fish over Memorial day while down in FL, it's super fun.

Headed to Costa Rica in early September for a few days but land-locked in UT means surfing only happens a few times a year.

#4 ·
Err said:
I do surf but not real well. I've always been involved with board sports - wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, and surfing. Just picked up a new 5'11" tri-fin fish over Memorial day while down in FL, it's super fun.

Headed to Costa Rica in early September for a few days but land-locked in UT means surfing only happens a few times a year.
You will LOVE Cosa: Vid from my trip:

https://s116.photobucket.com/albums/o24/MKRobert81/?action=view&current=MikeWipeOutCostaRica04.flv

#7 ·
Yep...always check the wave forecast before I make weekend riding plans. Been surfing for 20 years - learned in Maryland, lived in FL for 6 years, and now Santa Cruz is my home break for the last 10 years. Some years I surf more and others I ride more. This year I'm definitely riding more.

After the heyday 90's for DH, things got a bit wierd with the 50 lb bikes and all so I spent more time surfing. Now, DH seems to be on the upswing again and I'm definitely more stoked on it now.

#8 ·
Err said:
That's funny, but when I was in CR 2 years ago, I met guys from Utah, Colorado, Pennsylvania...all of these landlocked states. I was a bit surprised...thought I was heading out on a Centro surf adventure where only hardcore surfers go and it turned out to be like Disneyland. No offense - it was really cool and had a great time.