mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Smile Custom Building A Bike

Hey everyone

Im thinking about custom building a bike just for challenge and because I want specific things on it. I want to maybe build up like a commencal DH/ Freeride frame. SO yea have you guys got an suggestions seeing as this would be a massive challenge and its my first time also would it be cheaper?.

Thanks heaps

mtbr member
    The main reason why people in general (me included) build bikes rather than buy off of a shelf is so that it has specific parts on it. There are other reasons depending on the person but the reason I built my M9 rather than going with a kit is it has everything that I want and nothing that I don't.

Be aware that it may be cheaper depending on what you are trying to go for; however, it may be more expensive. It all depends on what echelon of components you are going for as well as whether you are buying new, used, 2012 stuff, 2013 stuff, and so on.

Building a bike can definitely be a challenge: especially if it is your first time. It is rewarding to finish it and be able to go out and ride something you put together from scratch. I enjoy it very much and have been doing it for years.

My advise is for you to do your research as to what you want. Sounds like you may have a frame chosen, but read reviews, ask people, talk to bike shops, and if at all possible demo the equipment before buying. The same goes for your components. I have no clue what your background is, how old you are, or what your abilities are. Make sure that it is something you really want to go for because it will be quite challenging and has the potential to become quite expensive depending on the route you choose.

Also just out of curiosity, did you intend on posting two threads about this an hour or so apart from each other?
    2012 Intense M9
    2012 Pivot Mach 5.7 Carbon
    2008 Look 595
    2007 Custom Litespeed Sewanee

Glad to Be Alive
    Quote Originally Posted by mtbnozpikr View Post