mtbr member

Changing stock fork on an Iron Horse Yakuza Kumicho

I'm fairly new to DH and have been doing some research, but I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on what forks to get for an '08 Iron Horse Yakuza Kumicho.

It has the Marzocchi 888 203mm (stock), but I want to be able to adjust my setup and get something set up a little more for my weight (185-190lbs).

Can someone shed some light on this for me, the help would be appreciated.

And will I need to purchase any other parts besides the fork?

Thanks in advance.
    "Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

If you think you can
    i would upgrade it to a 888rc2x! they have great adjustability and the 06-07s are super reliable and plush!!!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    I also have an '08 Kumicho and I swapped the 888 RV for a 2009 Rockshox World Cup when Jenson had a great sale on them last year. I only have a few rides on the bike at the end of last season after doing the change in October. The World Cup is lighter and offers a lot more adjustability than the 888 did but I didn't have much time to get the World Cup dialed in last year. I had to buy a different brake caliper mount since the 888 and WC are different, and I also bought a Truvativ direct mount stem which was also different from the 888. You will also have to remove the crown race from the 888 and put it on your new fork. It can be a little tricky so you might want to have a local bike shop do that.The 888 wasn't bad but since it was the OEM RV it didn't offer any compression damping adjustment unless you wanted to mess with oil volume and viscosity or change the springs to a different weight - not something I wanted to mess with. Some people say air forks are not as smooth as springs but I don't have enough time on the fork to form an opinion yet. Good luck!

mtbr member
    Thanks guys! I appreciate the input.

I'm definately looking for an oil shock, I'm just not too sure what brand. I'll check out the zoke 888 rc2x.