mtbr member

back injuries from dh and freeriding?

Old school freerider here that just had back surgery due to severe herniation of l5s1 disc.
    I thought back to the first time I visited a dr for back pain...and it was like 8 years ago after a hard crash while riding at a resort.

Prior to this I spent many years freeriding and taking natural drops to flat.

I'm wondering if my history of biking resulted in my destroyed disc.
    For you older riders out there...any long term back issues?

Total Goober
    Sep 2009
    I have a herniated lumbar disc, and DH feels way better on my back than trail riding. Climbing just destroys it, or at least I use that as an excuse to mostly ride at the resorts.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuglio View Post
    You guys suck im all bummed now

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Same here, I have a slipped L4 and as long as I keep proper position while riding it doesn't hurt. If while riding I start to get lazy and sloppy, it starts hurting.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

CAN YOU DIG IT??!!??!!!??
    Took a spill a coupl'a wks ago at Snowshoe, (OTB), jacked my bk up and missed the last day of riding, still healing up chomping at th bit to get bk in th saddle. Anytime my bk is bothering me, usually lower bk issues, I can go for a long epic and it seems ease up somewhere along th ride. Lucky me, but I'm betting the pain from Snowshoe wont be as easy to clear up...not so lucky me.
    "Why are you willing to take so much & leave others in need...just because you can?"

mtbr member
    Yeah I understand...
    all these years of riding actually felt fine whether uphill or down.

Do you think the biking caused your issues?

I'm pretty sure riding is at least a contributing factor for me...plus working in a cube for 20 years.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004