mtbr member
    May 2006

anyone rocking the 661 evo pressure suit?

I'm just getting into downhill seriously and after an awesome few days at my nearest serious DH spot, Windrock TN, I'm looking into getting some good torso protection. I've been wearing my MX roost guard for some torso protection but I just don't feel like it is enough.

Looking around I found the new 661 evo pressure suit
    http://www.sixsixone.com/Catalog_661...7-fd71fa59be68

It looks like the evo is replacing the pro model and looks super nice but I couldn't find any mention of it in the searching I did here in the forums. It looks lighter and more form fitting than most of the other torso protection I've looked at.
    How is the fit?
    How would it be in the summer heat?
    Do you feel like it offers adequate protection for someone just getting into DH?
    Does it use the d3o padding? Some retailer websites mention that it does but the actually 661 product site doesn't mention it.

I'd prefer to buy a nice torso protector that I won't need to replace any time soon but 250 is probably the max I could spend on it right now. I suppose I could keep wearing the the MX roost guard until I save up some more cash if I need to spend more but the bruised, swollen, and scraped up shoulders that I've acquired this weekend have me thinking I should get something ASAP.

thanks for any info guys.

Zak
    Discernibly Turgid
    Jul 2004
    I don't think you'll find too many people on here with them yet - they really just came out. I'm pretty sure it doesn't have d3o.

Check the size chart - the evo looks like it fits way smaller (I wear a medium in their old suits, but going by the measurements I'd wear a large evo). I'd like to see one in person because I don't wear large in anything.