mtbr member
    Aug 2012

2012 or 2013 Giant Glory 2?

Im fairly new to downhill and never owned a full downhill bike. I can get a last years glory 2 on sale at a local bike shop for $2700. However, the 2013 model just became available and like everything a year newer, the manufacture claims is new and improved. Will a 63.5 degree head tube angle make a difference from a 65.5 degree? Also how are the Marzocchi 888 Cr forks and Roco R rear shock compared to the rock shox boxxer rc and kage r?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    I would say go with the 2013. I would prefer the 63.5 HA over the 65.5 and I don't think $2700 is that good of a deal on a "last years" bike when retail on the 2013 is $3200. If possible maybe you could get the bike shop to go even lower on the 2012. Either way Glorys are great bikes.

PMarsh Thumbs Up!
    You can get the older one, spend like $100 and get a Works component headset that makes it 63.5* HA. Did that on my Glory. I bought a 2011 in 2012.

However, mine came with RockShox suspension as the lower model. I think I would go with the 2013.
    2011 Giant Glory 01
    2013 Pivot Firebird
    2004 Turner Rail - Stoled

mtbr member
    Get the 2013 glory. New glory is lower, slacker, and longer. The big plus is you don't have to mess with an angleset. The 888 cr is a very good fork, and the marz rear isn't bad either. This is the frame giant should have put out when they originally redesigned to glory.
    Last edited by monstertiki; 09-01-2012 at 07:28 AM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    What difference does that 2 degrees really make? Is that something that would even make a difference for somewhat of an inexperienced rider? Also what does mean saying that its slacker?

2010 Glory custom FR
    Yes, you will. Glories have had very conservative HA for years. 2013 is the first year, when Giant's DH bike have got similar geometry to competitors bikes.
    Slacker = head angle is a little bit more parallel to the ground.
    pozdro