mtbr member
    Jul 2008

2006 jamis diablo 1.0

hey hows it goin

i been lookin at this bike and it seems pretty good i whant to know what you guys think about it

mtbr member
    Decent bike for the money. Kind of tough to answer what you want though. What specifically did you want to know?

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    if its a good strong bike that can take beating and not break

im not a hucker or any thing that big

the bigis dropp at the max is like 12 ft

and just what to know if any one ownes it and ther feed back on it

mtbr member
    Yeah its a pretty burly bike. It can take any drops that I can. I don't think it or I could handle a 12 ft drop to flat though...

I own it and am very happy with it. the stock fork (manitou stance flow) needs some work to perform well

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    well thanks bro i apreciate it

not to flat

do you currently have it and what upgrades have you done on it so far

mtbr member
    Yeah I still have it. I am just getting into lift assisted DH and use it for that.

I rebuilt the stock fork and converted it to semi bath. Then last week I won a marzocchi Z1 fork one bay for a great price and installed that. Thats temporary until I figure out how long of a fork it can safely take. I'd like to go up to at least 160mm and even 180mm if it can be done safely

I upgraded the tires to 2.5 front with 2.35 rear nevegals. I added a medium cage LX rear derailer in place of the deore long cage.

I upgraded the brakes to Juicy 5's 203mm in the front and 160mm in the rear.

Other than that its been a decent bike. i've done some big drops, used it as my "all-mountain" bike, taken it to moab, and now its my DH bike. I have no complaints. It seems to have simliar geometry to the transition vagrant everyone here loves. Only you can get it for much much less money.

The only issue I will mention is that the frame doesn't have a lot of clearance in the rear. The largest tire I can safely fit is a 2.35 nevegal.

mtbr member