mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Newbie to mountain bike riding

Need advise on bike

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
    I'm new to mountain biking. I have been with my friends to just local trails here in modesto CA. But will be going to. Ore advanced trails such as toro Park. Anyways they all have giant 29er bikes that cost starting about 800. I saw at a local target store a Diamondback that has the same features as the giant. It has disc brakes and from adjustable shocks. I'm sure it's not the same quality as a giant. But is it a good beginner bike? Or should I go with a giant? I have been Riding for about five months so it is something I will continue on doing. Just wanted to get your thoughts. Any help will be gratefully appreciated.

mtbr member
    Congrats on getting into mountain biking. I grew up in Modesto myself, there isn't much to ride around there except for maybe Dry Creek. As for the bike, you were probably looking at a Diamondback Overdrive. I don't have one but they are great bikes. They are available in different models and have different levels of components ranging from cheap to very high end carbon fiber. I started out on a Diamondback recoil and switched to a Mission. Diamondback makes very high quality bikes and despite what people will tell you, they are not a Wal-Mart bike. Far from it! That would be a good beginner bike depending on what model of Overdrive it is. Diamondbacks quality is definitely on par with Giant and pretty much any other major bike company.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014