mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Help with response xe

So.....I picked up a response xe on a trade (In my eyes it went really well in my favor). Anyways it is a 2011 and never been ridden. I plan to keep this for long time. I wont ever ride enough to justify anything better. I will slowly up grade it till its completely upgraded.

So, my question is...where do I start. There is so much stuff to look at and I'm new to bikes so I have no clue. I know the components are crap on this thing as well as pretty much everything else.

what do you guys think I should get first or where do I start.

If your not going to give me legit upgrades and just tell me to get a new bike you can not waste your time and gtfo.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Start with the pedals, after that. Change parts as the stock parts wear out. Though you can put a decent wheelset and tires and take the weight down substantially.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Well I was reading that this bike has a 7 speed free hub something or other.....Should I stick with that? or go to something different. I read that it effects the wheel set you get. Also recommend any good cheap wheel sets?

mtbr member
    7 speed cassette is easy to swap out to an 8 speed if you have to tools and you can still use the same rear derailler just adjust the limiter screw to allow for and extra cog.
    The free hub is what you attach the cassette to, but is part of the rear hub which is part of the rear wheel, you can keep the 7 and still change the wheel.

The wheelset i put on my response was a mavic crossride disc, made a big difference and are not too expensive. search it online as you can get very good deals on this set.

mtbr member
    (assuming you already ditched the temporary plastic pedals) I would go:
    Fork>Stem/Bars> Wheels/Tires> 2x9 drivetrain (x7 is a great value)> Crank/BB> Brakes

mtbr member
    Jul 2011