mtbr member
    Oct 2011

'12 DB Recoil Comp...wanting to upgrade fork?

hey bros, Just got a '12 DB recoil comp and im excited. im brand new to the biking scene, i used to own GT hardtail way back before i can remember, but this is my first FS mountain bike and im excited. After all my research i found this to be the best introductory bike not to mention i really like the look of it. im a little over 5'10" and around 185 lbs. I got the M (18") frame. I also ordered the wifey a '12 DB Lux sport, got her the XS (13") frame, she is 5'1", she is very small. Few questions for you guys, i had to order online, im in afghanistan, found a good deal on them and couldnt pass it up, do these frame sizes sound correct for us? I know it gets more technical with reach and TT length, but overall from your experience, what do you think about those sizes? Also im looking at doing a little more aggressive riding, wondering how the 100mm suntour fork would hold up? Possibly thinking about upgrading to maybe a 120/140mm? fork, but i think if i go too high i will throw the geometry of the bike off, not to mention its a 4" travel. I believe the rear is a 4" as well, its hte Rock Shox BAR-R suspension. So what are you opinions? Im obviously just starting out, so i wont be going wild, but i want to have something that will hold up if i try to push a little ya know? I plan on using this bike for casual trail riding with my girl, and then maybe do a little more aggressive riding with some friends... looking for some speed and maybe some jumps? Not really like a dedicated downhill course because this is not a downhill bike, but will this bike hold up to more aggressive/more technical riding? and what upgrades should i be looking at getting to make it a better bike for aggressive riding...the last thing i need is to eat it because i landed and the fork snapped ya know? Well please hit me back, im really wanting to learn alot and learn from current DB owners! Thanks guys!

mtbr member