mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Scattante dx350 vs Fuji Cross 3.0

Hi everyone,
    I would like your opinions on this choice. Yes, I narrowed it down to two models, I did my homework, but I need some input from more knowledgeable riders.
    I am looking to get my first cyclocross bike. Over the past 4 years I have been riding a single speed steel 29r mountain bike only. I ride local trails, some paved, some dirt and gravel, going off trail on rare occasion, little road time. I am not an expert by any means, but I do enjoy riding fast and getting my exercise this way, while taking in some neat nature and changing landscape.
    I find myself wanting more speed, a lighter frame, slightly more aggressive riding on the paved/road portions, while maintaining the solid, rather "bomb-proof" factor I get with my low cost but very sturdy SE mountain bike. I also want something that holds together - I do all my maintenance on the single speed, but adjusting derailleurs and gears and all that extra jazz is not something I would be keen on spending too much time on.
    Sooo, since I believe in supporting my LBS, which has been good to me, I am between these:
    Fuji Cross 3.0: https://www.performancebike.com/bike...ductId=1126705
    and
    Scattante DX350: https://www.performancebike.com/bike...ductId=1130848
    So far it breaks down like this:
    Pro Fuji: lighter; Tiagra gearing, which I am told is a big step up from the Sora; better saddle, so that upgrade is not immediately needed; more of a trusted brand; ?more durable;
    Pro Scattante: cheaper by $200; disk breaks; carbon fork; additional break levers on the bar (no experience riding aeros, so this is a potential safety factor initially)