Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

looking for a super versatile bike for road/varied surfaces, and long distances.

13K views 43 replies 15 participants last post by  Tricker Joe 
#1 ·
not sure if this is the most appropriate forum to post in but im looking for a road/cross type bike. something that i can really haul and ride fast on across town or on longer distance road rides, and swap out the tires and ride a mix of paved, fire road, and mellow mtn bike trails if needed. id also like to be able to throw some racks on it to carry gear for multi day trips/camping.

im very new to anything non squishy mountain bike related, so far a friend told me to check out the traitor crusade which looks pretty sweet, but i really have no idea what to look for and what i need in a bike to do what i want it to do.

it would be nice if the bike could be built fairly lightweight, both to save weight when i load it up, and because a lot of the medium-longer rides ill be doing will be on some steep up and down mountain roads, so id like it to have a little of that tiny tire carbon race road bike feel, or at least not get blown away by those guys.

ive also got a singlespeed road bike on 45c tires, set up more for around town bashing and fun, so thats my go to bike when im 40 minutes from one side of town to the other or spending time in the city. i may use this new bike for a little of that but that kind of riding isnt a concern with this bike.

See less See more
#2 ·
Sounds like a cyclocross would be your best fit for the jack-of-all-but-master-of-none sort of application. One that always stands out is the Surly Cross Check. Not exactly light but extremely versatile when it comes to tire choice (huge clearance) and the ability to load it up.

#3 ·