Rider and Wrench

Looking into gravel bikes

Thinking about purchasing a gravel bike, did a sort of gravel/cross build on an older El Mariachi but just sold my full squish and plan to put that back into action as a mountain bike- after a 40 mile ride trying to keep up with some friends on cross/gravel bikes It was apparent it was not quite as effective as I would have liked anyway.

I am looking at two bikes I can get from my local shop - within about $200 of each other

Jamis Renegade Expat

Breezer Inversion pro

Not quite an apples to apples comparison since the Breezer retails for $600 more... the Breezer has a better quality steel frame and better components so on paper it seems like a no brainer... but I canít deny likening the feel of the Renegade- I have little road/drop bar experience so I am not sure how much of it was a result of the slightly larger tires that the Jamis had.

I plan to use it for gravel, double track and hopefully a bit of single track to tie together some loops close to home.

Any feedback on the above bikes or general tips from your experience are appreciated.
    I Just wish I could ride more!

wanna ride bikes?
    Hard to say which is right for you?

Jamis I like: Reynolds double butted tubing, Size specific geo and tubing, threaded BB, bigger tires than Breezer, WTB i23 rims, good brakes.

Jamis don't like: good enough drivetrain.

Breezer I like: 105 drivetrain, hy/rd brakes are supposed to be slightly better,

Breezer don't like: Unknown steel tubing (single butted), PF BB, cheap Alex rims, stupid skinny tires for a gravel bike, website gives almost no information about it??

Neither says how big of a tire you can clear, but I didn't look too hard.

Jamis gets my vote hands down. They spent the time and money where it counts most to me, and it's cheaper. The Breezer put a fancy drivetrain on what I suspect is an inferior product.
    Rigid SS 29er
    Fat Lefty
    SS MonsterCross
    SS cyclocross
    all steel