Bikes!

Looking for a cool cross bike for some commuting schralp. :)

Hi

im looking for a bit of help please.

I'm a total newb in regards to CX bikes but what I do know is I would rather use a CX bike rather than a full blown road bike as my commute consists of some nice bits of single track and off road strung together with road sections. I have been riding MTB's for years and have never really considered a road bike or should I say, anything other than a mtb but I am having to commute for a few months and the places I have to ride through aren't really places for me to be on my Yeti SB95c.

Im looking for a good value cross bike that will still put a smile on my face. So far I've considered a Kona Jake the Snake, Trek CrossRip Elite and an Orange RX9 but rather than read the marketing hype I'd much prefer to be swayed by real world views.

If you could throw some more ideas at me I'd appreciate it please.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Hi

I bought a new Kona JTS in 2011 and have loved every second of owning it. It has been brilliant on all types of surfaces and the only upgrade needed was some decent brakes (TRP CX9s). The wheels have stood up to a lot of abuse on and off road. I only recently found the benefits of reducing tyre pressure - even with Sammy Slick tyres the bike can handle gravel and every other surface.

Owned it for two years, done countless miles and i still stand in the garage staring at it! I have removed the seat and frame bags now as i prefer to use a Camelbak rucksack.

Looking for a cool cross bike for some commuting schralp. :)-image.jpg

I love exploring on this bike, linking up different off road sections. But I have also done 100 mile rides with ease; the only mistake i made was to buy some road tyres thinking it would make the bike a lot quicker. I found they ruined the bike (i like the comfort afforded by the larger tyres) and they were no quicker. I love the flexibility of this bike and would recommend a Kona!

Bikes!