mtbr member

Help with CX decision...

So, I'm trying to decide between two used CX bikes... Primary use will be commuting and dirt roads, with a couple CX/dirt road races thrown in.

Choices as of now are:

1. Late 90's Voodoo Wazoo frame w/Kelly fork, all powdercoated to match, a nice seafoam-ish green. A mix of older 600, deore, and Sora parts. 135mm rear drops. A mode US made steel rig. $400

2. 2005 Trek XO 1. All stock, except the aluminum fork (also included) replaced with an Origin 8 carbon CX fork. 2005- era 105 stuff all around, with the Bonti wheels. $450.

Your thoughts?

mtbr member

Re: Help with CX decision...

Anyone? :beer:

TXTony
    I am no expert on either bikes but I think I would go with the Trek simply because it is newer...though the the thought of steel is enticing..I think pick the best one that meets your needs and go with it..plus on the Trek the entire drive trail seems to be complete from one group...though mixing is not issue and is done all the time I just like have everything matched up..I guess it comes down to fit and personal preference as cool as the VooDoo is I think I would still spring for the Trek

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Trek sounds good due ot the 105 components, not sure of the differnences but I have a 2006 uquipped road bike with 105 still in perfect working order with lots of miles on it (chain, cassette, crank all have been replaced at times but shifters deraileurs great shape). I am actually in process of changing my cross bike over to 105 from SRAM Apex.
    XC, Road, XXC, Endurance, Mtn, All-Mtn, Cross, Gravel, just go have fun on 2 wheels!

mtbr member

In general is it more desierable to get a good frame with ok components, or an ok frame with good components?

I'm thinking the components will be easier to upgrade later.

Also, as I plan on using this for mostly gravel and commuting, would the steel frame be more comfy then the aluminum Trek? Or was this frame not that stiff?

Thanks for the feedback so far!