mtbr member

CX Build Questions

Wife has given me the go ahead to build a new bike.. it was either a 160mm Enduro rig or a CX bike. Well yesterday I saw the new Transition Rapture CX bike.. and it is stunning.. This bike will be a gravel grinder, commuter, amateur CX.

Found the following kit: Kinesis Crosslight Disc Build Kit Sports & Leisure | ProBikeKit.com

I want disc brakes. From looking at the specs below I will need the following parts.. Seatpost, Front Derailleur, Seatpost Clamp

I checked out the wheelset. It's a 10x135. So thats a big plus

Anyone that can help me figure out which front derailleur works for me. I will prob get a Chris King Headset.. maybe a Enduro kit and a better BB.

I need you guys to help as I have no knowledge about CX or Road related stuff..

Thanks alot guys.. any help would be great.

Transition Rapture CX Frame:
    SEATPOST/CLAMP: 27.2mm Seatpost/29.8mm Clamp
    HEADTUBE: 44mm Upper / 44mm Lower
    BOTTOM BRACKET: 68mm BSA
    REAR DROPOUT: 10 x 135mm (With Swinger Tension System)
    FRONT DERAILLEUR: 31.8mm High Clamp (Bottom Pull)

Kinesis Build Kit:

Headset: FSA Orbit C-40-ACB- Tapered.
    Headset Spacers: UPGRADE 1 1/8" x 5mm x 2,10mm x 1, 20mm x 1.
    Handle Bar: FSA Omega Compact 420mm x 31.8
    Stem: FSA OS 190 Laser 100mm.
    Seat Post: FSA FSA SL 280.
    Brakes: Tektro Lyra.
    Crankset: FSA Omega CX 36/46 -172.5mm Mega Exo.
    Chain: KMC X-10 114L.
    STI Shifters: Shimano 105 5700 double.
    Front Mech: Shimano 105 5700 31.8mm clamp-on.
    Rear Mech: Shimano 105 5700 SS.
    Cassette: Shimano 4600 10SP 11-25T.
    Saddle: Freedom by WTB / Kinesis.
    Bar tape: Velo Cork Tape.
    Wheelset: Kinesis CX Disc.
    Tyres: WTB Cross Wolf 32C.
    Tubes: WTB 700C, 48mm Stem.
    Seat Clamp: Kinesis Alloy 31.8mm.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Looks like all you'll need is a new seatpost clamp and a non-tapered headset.