Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

CTS/tendinitis from use of drop bars?

3K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  ewarnerusa 
#1 ·
I've been commuting and occasionally racing on my CX bike for several years with no issues with hand pains. But this summer I started to develop carpal tunnel syndrome in both hands. Working with doctors we thought it was primarily due to my desk job with a standard keyboard and mouse. I was very open with them about my cycling lifestyle and was dreading a suggestion to cut down on it. Thankfully they thought it was workspace related and with some workplace modifications, the pain has cleared up. But along the way I noticed that riding my CX bike was also causing a lot of pain, particularly in the left hand in the palm area along my pointer finger parts. The main aggravator was when riding on the drops and pulling on the brake. Easy solution, start commuting on the mountain bike rather than CX bike. Thankfully I get no pain from the MTB bars.

But my CX bike has fenders and so for the last couple weeks I switched back over to using it for commutes due to wet roads in the evenings from snow melt. Sure enough, the pain in my left hand has returned. I don't find myself in the drops hitting the brakes during my commute, so it isn't that I was aggravating it by doing that. Has anyone else had this type of pain from their drop bars? Any suggestions for a change in position? This summer a doctor thought it may be more of a tendinitis issue related to lever reach rather than CTS.

Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
Cross Symbol Silver Wing Religious item

I have this Problem.....