mtbr member

Carbon vs. Aluminum Frame

I figured this has been posted before but a quick search didn't find anything, so I apologize if this is redundant. I'm looking to get my first cyclocross bike and race 'cross this season. I've been racing on the road and mtb for the past three years and want to give 'cross a try. For my first year racing, will there be a noticeable difference between a carbon frame and an aluminum frame? Specifically, I've been looking at the 2014 Specialized Crux Elite Rival Disc (carbon with Rival rear derailleur) versus the Crux Sport Apex Disc (alum. with apex rear derailleur). There's a $750 retail price difference, with the main difference being a carbon frame and Rival rear derailleur. Is it worth spending the extra money for carbon and rival or should I save the money and get some tubular wheels? Thanks!

TXTony
    I started on a aluminum frame cross bike...it was kind of a harsh ride on some of the gravel grinders I did with it..switched to a Cannondale Carbon Super X and it was night and day difference..at least to me...smoothed out things a lot..I really notice the difference when I swap out tires to ride it on the road...the Cannondale has Rival on it..pretty decent group IMO..I imagine Apex is just as good.....I guess they both have their pros and cons..I like the ride of the carbon better over the aluminum..but my aluminum bike was a good bike..just the frame seemed to amplify the rough stuff more to me

mtbr member
    Thanks for the reply. That's what I had assumed - aluminum would be a rougher ride which for riding 'cross I would think you would want to smooth out the ride as much as possible.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013