mtbr member
    Feb 2006

Preston Vs BottleRocket

I am new to serious mountain biking. I am very keen to get a Transition bike; but I am undecide between the Preston or BottleRocket.

Beside the sloping top tube, look like BottleRocket has about 0.5" rear travel then Preston. Does this 0.5" rear travel really change the functionity of the bike... from FR to FR/DH. Please help me to firm up my mind... please..

I like the Preston short travel, but I like the BottleRocket sloping top tube... just wish Transition will married the two and come out with new baby call PrestonRocket.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    What kind of riding and terrain will you be doing? Do you need to pedal everywhere or keep up with XC friends? What's your weight and height?

Florida Rider
    id get the bootle rocket, it looks sweet

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    I am (5' 6" 180lbs) into aggreesive trail & light FR.. Climing & speed is quit import to me...

Formerly DMR For Life
    Quote Originally Posted by gbull
    I am (5' 6" 180lbs) into aggreesive trail & light FR.. Climing & speed is quit import to me...
    then go for the preston the bottlerocket won't climb as well

DMR

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by gbull
    Preston is the bike you want then. My Preston continues to put a smile on my face everytime I ride it. Lemme know if you have any questions.Better yet call up Transition and talk to Kyle or Kevin directly and they'll be happy just shoot the **** about the bikes and give honest answers to any questions you have.

DLd
    mtbr member
    Feb 2005

I'd have to agree